Howdy Guest!  / Create an account
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
beginner to EVP, need help with Audacity.
i did my first session this morning, however my DVR does not use a usb 2.0 jack so i had to connect the earphone jack to the line in jack on my pc and record in audacity while playing the 2+min recording i had. exported it as a wav file for later listening and editing, however i have no idea how to tell if i for sure got an EVP or not as i have no idea how to clean up the noise and make the possible EVP louder.

is there anyone with experienced audacity use that can help me? i am pretty new to this. i have a $60 usb headset for listening so that should help somewhat.
I use Adobe Audition for my evp and previous to that I used to use Cool Edit Pro which basically is the same.
I use an older Sony dvr which I have to play around with to get it on my pc as it uses an old programme . I still use it because I have always got great evp from it. I also use a ZOOM H5 recorder.

Now, even though I have never used Audacity, it should be similiar to Audition which is not a free one.
What you need to do first is make sure your evp are in WAV format and after you have cleaned, keep them in wav.
Always keep the original in a file somewhere marked with the date, place etc
I listen with earplugs on the recorder and cull what I dont want. Im pretty good at picking them out now as have been doing it for 12 or more years.
You dont want to have to clean them very much or they become distorted and sound robotic
I use a click/pop eliminator, light hiss reduction, and sometimes even noise reduction . I also amplify at times.
I also look at the wave and can see by the subtle changes where the evp is.
You can save sections you want by highlighting and then you have options on what you want to do. SAVE SECTION  for example.
The only way you are going to learn how to use it is to youtube it and play around really.

I can give you some advice on evp generally.