Howdy Guest!  / Create an account
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need advice for first paranormal investigation...
In September, I am joining a group on a paranormal investigation, in an abandoned castle in the UK (already organised, with permission etc).

I've never done anything like this before, and wondered what essentials I might need to purchase/bring with me?

I don't mind spending money - within limits - but only on items that are really needed.

What about EMF meters - will that be useful? Should I bother bringing something to record EVPs? Or should I just bring myself and a camera?

Any advice would be welcome.
If you are going with a group, find out what equipment they will be bringing. My first investigation was with my team, and they had all the equipment..I brought myself and a notepad!

If you have a camera of course, bring it..and check this thread here for tips: http://www.talkparanormal.com/thread-11111.html

You can pick up a decent digital recorder for not too much money. Sony is probably the most affordable while still having clarity. Again, educate yourself on what different things can sound like on audio, because whispers, stomach growls, even pant legs can sound a lot more sinister if you don't know where it came from. So be observant as to what natural sounds are being made and make note of them.

Anything you have that needs batteries..take some extras. No, I don't think ghosts drain batteries..but that type of equipment, especially if it is on for an extended length of time will run out of battery power because a lot of it wasn't designed to be on for that long.